Home » Ramblings » Less Random Ramblings » Learning to do “Normal”

Learning to do “Normal”

Today, while avoiding my main WIP (again) I was attempting to write a story about a perfectly normal main character. If you have read any of my fun little rides of insanity, then you should be well aware just how abnormal and difficult that is for me. If you haven’t, then simply suffice it to say I have never before written a lead that was entirely human, didn’t have at least one bizarre power or ability, and didn’t have an extremely traumatizing past. I have written many characters whose families had been mercilessly slaughtered before them when they were children, many many characters with wings or telepathy or who could turn into lions (in one case, I made one with all three) and quite a few humans who… weren’t really human, or at least not for long. So, when I say I tried to make a story with a main character who was completely human, lived with her parents, was an only child, went to high school, and was not known for beating the living daylights out of anybody… Yeah, you can probably picture how well that went!

I did manage to get a good bit of character development for my lead and her two best friends, mostly just by running through some dialogue about gym class:

Pat is quiet and reserved around anyone who is not especially close to her. Physically, she is weak and slow, but can walk for hours without getting tired. She participates in gym class, doesn’t put any real effort into it. In classes she doesn’t care about, she’s perfectly happy with simply passing; with classes she enjoys or is good at, she strives to at least get B’s in. She loves to climb, but has a minor irrational fear of falling. She likes to read, and is known personally by at least one librarian at the school. She’s a decent artist, and enjoys art class, but doesn’t have a strong enough interest in it to make it a hobby. She’s short, but not terribly so, and on the lighter side for her height. She dresses comfortably, with no real attention to fashion or style; she prefers blue jeans, simple tee-shirts, and owns only one pair of well-worn sneakers. She has a single pair of simple pin earrings, which she wears for no reason other than because she can.

Tasha is energetic, outgoing, and optimistic. She does her own thing, without worrying about what other people will think. She’s intelligent, but finds puzzles of logic, math, and science tedious and boring. She’s very creative, and dabbles in various artistic pursuits. She’s flighty, jumping from one great idea to the next, and not dismayed by thoughts of all her failed or unfinished projects. She is constantly thinking of how great she could be, and often tries to push her friends to think of their own possibilities. She is the sort of person to have a great number of misadventures, and drags her friends along for the ride. She dresses wildly, proud to be different. She wears many vibrant colors, and most of her clothes she has modified from their original forms to fit her personal style. She has a wide and varied collection of footwear, and a large number of big, dangly earrings.

Nat has a strong “attitude” and a surprisingly stubborn side, but she’s generally very cool and collected; she is nearly always in control of herself. Her temper is long, but once she’s lost it, all heck breaks loose. When she is not serious, she tends to be sarcastic, though it’s often not meant to be hurtful. She is not a genius or child prodigy, but she likes to put her mind to work. She excels at math and science, because she motivates herself to keep going at it when it becomes difficult. She is stronger than average, though she doesn’t show any enthusiasm in her gym class activities. She has a job which keeps her in shape, so unless she cares overmuch for her grade (which she doesn’t) she doesn’t really need to do the exercises assigned. Her clothes are comfortable and follow her own style, which is not as plain as Pat’s or as eccentric as Tasha’s. She prefers dark colors, especially forest green and dark purple, patterned with or alongside black. She has almost as many earrings as Tasha, but hers are smaller and more spunky.

Now, here’s my problem: I created three normal characters, but now I have no idea what to do with them. What happens to normal people that makes a good story, that normal people are capable of dealing with? I read and write way too many tales involving dragons and wizards and superheroes and spaceships and genetic experimentation and post apocalyptic mayhem… What kind of story doesn’t involve magic, monsters, or phaser weapons?

GAAH!

4 thoughts on “Learning to do “Normal”

  1. Maybe they all fall for the same boy; one of them is secretly contemplating (insert odd behavior or activity here); there’s drug or alcohol addiction; um…the death of a beloved pet…basic day to day drama that brings out their strengths, weaknesses and either tears them apart or brings them closer together…

    Does that help? :-). And I suppose, if all else fails, you could toss in an alien encounter? lol.

    • Erm… I may be married, but I know nothing about crushing. As the old adage goes, write what you know, but I don’t know, so just no. 😛 What counts as odd behavior, that doesn’t stream into paranormal/sci-fi/fantasy/etc? If I did something about drugs or alcohol, it might turn out preachy, which I try to avoid. Death of a beloved pet… Um… I dunno how that goes. What is “basic day to day drama”?

      An alien encounter… sorta defeats the purpose of attempting to write something completely and totally normal, heheh!

      Thanks for the suggestions, though!

  2. Looking at them, I’m thinking some kind of social activism. Like – their private school is going out of business/planning to cancel choir/implementing school uniforms and they stand up for what they believe (which is probably something a lot less dorky than my first thoughts) and find that life is more than just boys – although there is a love interest too. Or maybe they go to different schools but have some other shared issue they’re into. This just sounds like the kernel group for some awesome coming of age drama involving a club of some kind.

    I really applaud branching into contemporary fiction. I keep trying to do that more.. I honestly was out to dinner with some friends who were talking about Downton Abbey (Again…. groan) and all I could say for my part is – it doesn’t have vampires or ANY kind of supernatural characters or even quippy villains? Why would I watch that? I really need to branch back into reality. And keep thinking I need to write contemporary fiction without ‘interesting’ plotline or world system..

    • An interesting group of ideas… Still have no idea how I’d do any of it, though, lol!

      And thanks! I know it’s good to keep at least one foot in reality, but it’s just… so boring! I read and write for the sake of leaving my everyday world for an epic new one!

      I could probably get away with using this characters in my usual genre, but there’s just… Knowing me, one of them is BOUND to develop a secret identity, a super power… Which again, defeats the purpose of creating normal human characters. *sigh*

      Anybody want to borrow these characters? They’re most likely going to just sit on my hard drive for eternity if left to me…

Speak, Igor!